Skye came to us a few weeks ago after her elderly human died.  A caring neighbour found her a space in rescue but knew almost nothing about her.  We hoped she was microchipped so at least we’d know her name … but she wasn’t.   So we’ve named her Skye … because she’s beautiful like the Isle of Skye and because she loves to climb up high as the sky.
She’s a sweet little girl but clearly upset and anxious.  She’s seen her mum die and then all the disruption of people arriving and the house starting to be cleared.  We thought since she was climbing and hiding high up in her room that she was going to be unfriendly or even aggressive …. but when we got a chair and climbed up to speak to her she leaned in to the snuggle and purred … lots.

Sadly she was full of fleas when she arrived and this had taken its toll on her lovely black jacket.   I guess her mum wasn’t well for a while and hadn’t been able to give her as much care as she’d have wanted to.  The fleas are dealt with now and she’s much more comfortable … though it will take a while for her coat to get back to being as beautiful as it can be.  We think she’s been spayed but she’s booked in for the op again just in case.

We understand she’s been used to going outdoors so would probably enjoy having a safe garden to explore once she’s settled in her new home.  Cats need at least 4 weeks to settle before allowing them out for the first time.  We strongly recommend that they’re kept indoors during hours of darkness for their own safety, especially black cats.

Skye has started her vaccinations … the full course is paid for.  She’s now been micro chipped.  She’s in good health as far as out vets can see.

I think she’ll be happy in a home with anyone/s who have a bit of patience to allow her to grieve and then begin a new life.   If you think your home would be the right one for Skye to settle in and move on from this upset please message us.

We always homecheck prior to adoption and ask a minimum adoption donation of £75 for an adult  cat. There’s more about our adoption process here: and you’ll probably find more photos and stories about her here: and here:

  • Status:Needs Home
  • Gender:Female
  • Fur colour:Black
  • Breed:Moggy
  • Age(When Added):4 Year(s) Old
  • Neutered/Spayed:Due to be neutered
  • Indoor/OutdoorAccess to Outdoors
  • Can live with children:Yes
  • Can live with dogs:Not Sure
  • Can live with other cats:Not Sure

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: